Fun Finds… Other uses for household items

I’m always curious to learn about the many powers that something, especially regular household items, have the ability to do.  When you don’t have time (or $) to run to the store to get fancy products, try one of these out & you might just be surprised!  Some of these tips I’ve learned from various websites & others I’ve heard from friends/family.

VINEGAR

Windshield de-icer: For those of you (like me) who have to deal with scraping ice off your car in the morning, this is a great tip I’m very excited to try!  Put 3 parts vinegar & 1 part water in a spray bottle & spray your car windshield the night before a snow storm.  (Tip from HuffingtonPost)

Sunburns: Dab some vinegar on the burned areas & it will apparently help prevent peeling..interesting! (Tip from HuffingtonPost)

Shower curtain mildew: This is great to know, as sometimes washing it in the washing machine doesn’t always get it off! (Tip from HuffingtonPost)

Salt stains off boots: For someone like me, who lives in Vermont, this is a GREAT tip! Mix a little water + vinegar. (Tip from HuffingtonPost)

Gets rid of weeds in patio & driveway cracks: Wonderful tip & safe alternative to pesticides! (Tip from HuffingtonPost)

Removes wallpaper: I have to say, I used this tip when I was removing wallpaper from an old farmhouse wall & it does work.  Mix 1/3 vinegar & 2/3 water in a spray bottle, spray on wallpaper – FULLY moisten, let sit for a few minutes (to allow time to soak in), then slowly peel the wallpaper off.

Learn more about the powers of vinegar here: VinegarTips.com


TOOTHPASTE

Clean silver: Helps to remove tarnish from silver.  I use this tip often if I’m traveling & my jewelry could use a little sprucing up!  The toothpaste needs to contain baking soda for this tip to work.

Pimples: I’m not a dermatologist, but this did help me with my achne as a teenager.  At night, after I washed my face, I would dab a little toothpaste on pimples that I saw creeping up.  The toothpaste helps dry out the forming pimple.

Removes scuff marks: Have pesky scuff marks on your floor from sneakers?  Apply some toothpaste to the area, rib with a soft cloth, then wipe away with a damp cloth! (Tip from Everyday-Wisdom)

PEPPER

Rid bugs from your garden: If you aren’t a fan of pesticides, this is a tip for you!  Mix together: 2 tbsp cayenne pepper, 2 large cloves garlic, 2 medium onions & 4 cups water in a food processor until sooth.  Add mixture to a gallon of water & spray your plants.  I’m very curious to try this tip from ezinearticles!

Prevents dogs from nabbing things from off the counter: Have a problem with Fido jumping up & checking out what’s on the counters?  Sprinkle some chili pepper on the edges of the counters, so when your dog sniffs he will get a surprise & learn his lesson pretty quickly!

Prevent dog from chewing house plant: Sprinkle a little chili pepper or chili powder on the leaves & will help to keep the dog away. (Tip from eHow)

Some medical uses for black & white pepper: WedMD

OLIVE OIL

Shave your legs: All out of shaving cream?  Try using olive oil for smooth legs & less chance for razor burn.  (Tip from WomensDay)

Wood furniture polish: Mix 1 tsp olive oil + 1/4 cup vinegar.  I’ve heard this mixture works better than others.  (Tip from Care2)

Removing chewing gum: I’ve heard peanut butter works well, too, but the oil in the peanut butter is really what removes the gum.  Wash thoroughly after application.  (Tip from HouseholdRemedies)

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun Finds

Leave a Reply

