Breakfast Recipes…4 Layer Breakfast Casserole

If you haven’t noticed from my crazy 7 Layer Side, I get a kick out of layered dishes.  My idea for a layered breakfast casserole came from my need to do something with leftovers & volia my 4 Layer Breakfast Casserole was created!  It was delicious, easy & my family loved it.  Note: I made this dish with mashed potatoes versus hash browns, so the slices would stay together & not crumble when scooped out.

Serving size: 9-12

Ingredients: 4 large Russet potatoes, milk, butter, cheddar cheese, dozen eggs, bacon (8 slices) (or sausage or ground meat), salt & pepper

Tools: masher, 2 large pots, 1 pan, 1 large bowl, cheese grater, casserole dish & large spoon.

Directions:

Clean, cut & boil the potatoes until cooked (easily able to slice through)
In a large pot, mash the potatoes & add milk, butter, a little cheese, salt & pepper to taste

Crack open & wisk a dozen eggs in a large bowl
In another large pot or large (deep) pan, scramble the eggs (butter bottom of pan first to avoid too much sticking) & add a little salt & pepper to taste

Cook the breakfast meat of your liking (i.e. bacon, ground sausage, hash, etc) in a pan…I used turkey bacon

Once the mashed potatoes are a nice thick & creamy consistency, spread in a large casserole dish

Lay out the breakfast meat over the mashed potatoes

Scoop out the scrambled eggs over the breakfast meat

Lastly, sprinkle some grated cheese over the eggs & place in the oven at 250 until the cheese is melted & casserole warmed.

Serve warm

Tip: When I make this again, I think I’d rather use breakfast sausage patties versus turkey bacon.  It was good, but I think it could have been better.  I also will place some slices of tomato on the top, for added flavor!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes (all), Recipes: Breakfast

Leave a Reply

