Fun with Fall Fashion Friday

I haven’t been baking a lot lately (other than an apple crisp a couple weeks ago), so I thought I’d post about another love of mine: fashion!

I’m not going to lie, I stand in front of my closet for entirely too long every morning, scanning through the items, trying to figure out what the heck to wear.  I even check the weather on my phone in bed before I get up, so I can start planning a possible outfit in my head while I’m in the shower.  I still often end up staring into my closet, anyway, imagining various outfit possibilities.  I can’t tell you how envious I was of Cher’s closet in the movie Clueless.  I would kill to have that computer program that would show various outfits ON me…would definitely save some time & frustration!  

My style isn’t crazy or out there, but I’m no wallflower.  I tend to buy pieces that I think are somewhat simple & timeless, but can be jazzed up with modern fashion items.  I’m also not one to buy all high end clothes, yet I do occasionally splurge on a trendy item – but only one that I will be able to mix and match with various outfits (i.e. gorgeous boots).  The real key is to get the look by mixing inexpensive items with a couple more expensive (splurges) to trick people into thinking you spent more than you did on your outfit!  Sorry fashion designers, but there is honestly no reason why someone should spend $30 on a tank top in boutique, when you can buy almost the exact same thing for half the price at a department store.  Save your $ for a nice scarf you can wear with multiple outfits, instead!  Here are some fall fashion looks I’m loving this year…

Blazer and bootcut jeans…a look you can easily transform from work to play:

Nordstrom

 Long sweaters/layering (careful not to layer too much or wear unfitted pants, which could make you look frumpy):

Nordstrom

Maroon & purple seem to be very “in” colors this fall!  Good to get away from the typical brown, green, red & oranges of fall!

Kohl's (ELLE collection)

Cable-knit sweater & herringbone skirt=timeless & classy:

Banana Republic

 Boots…It’s amazing what a nice pair of boots can do for an outfit!

Banana Republic

Frye boots at Nordstrom

Belted jersey dresses: comfortable & stylish!

Macy's

Long-sleeved t-shirt dress: dress it up, dress it down!

Patagonia

More Fashion Ideas on my Casual Fall Fashion Pinterest Board:
 

No No’s:

Nordstrom

Nordstrom

Capes & ponchos…Just please say no…I really don’t like that these keep coming back.  I don’t care how comfortable they are or that they may hide your tummy.  Capes and ponchos make just about anyone look like they are wearing a tent or a potato sack, no matter what size you are.  Yuck.

Faux fur…Maybe it’s in because some people are so frustrated with our economic state that they want to go back to the cave man days?  Maybe it’s in because real fur is so frowned upon (rightfully so)?  Or maybe it’s in because people miss their pets when they are away from them & want to feel like they are with them?  Whatever the reason, I think it’s gross.  The only place I think faux fur is okay is around the hood of a coat or boots to keep you WARM & the snow out.  That’s it.  In my opinion, faux fur should not be used for fashion.  Period.

Update: Looks like Emily Abbate, a writer for Cafe Mom’s The Stir, agrees with me about Fur Fashion Fail!

Kohl's

Nordstrom

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun with Fashion Friday

Leave a Reply

