Quick Meals…Cheesy asparagus, bacon & egg on toast

I didn’t really feel like making anything extravagant for dinner the other night, so I scrounged around in my fridge/freezer for ingredients…I had some leftover asparagus to use from my CSA, alfredo sauce from a calzone, bits and pieces of cheese left from appetizers from a BBQ, 1/2 a bagel & bread that was going to go stale soon & also some eggs that needed to be used.  So what did I end up making with this random assortment of ingredients? Cheesy asparagus, bacon & eggs on toast!  

This could technically be yummy for dinner, lunch or breakfast…

Ingredients (even tho I technically listed them above…) for 2:
Asparagus (at least 3 stalks for each slice of toast)
4 slices toast
4 pieces bacon (I used tofu, but you can use turkey bacon or pork bacon)
4 eggs
Salt & pepper to taste

For the cheese sauce: an assortment of cheeses (i.e. cheddar, parmesan, feta & gouda), approx 2 tablespoons butter, approx 2 tablespoons flour & milk.  Optional: clove garlic, salt & pepper, herbs to taste.

Directions:

 See my Eggs Benedict post for how to make the cheese sauce…I added some crushed garlic, pepper, a pinch of salt, herbs & a little bit of leftover alfredo sauce to this cheese sauce, though!

Leave the cheese sauce on simmer (uncovered) on the back burner & cook the rest of the ingredients.

Steam the asparagus (takes a few minutes, depending on the size of the asparagus).

Cook the bacon in a pan.

Fry your eggs over easy (or any way you like) & add a little salt & pepper

Lastly, toast your toast…

And then you can really put the ingredients on in any order you want…

I put the asparagus on first.

Then the bacon.

Then the eggs on top.

Lastly, I added the cheese…

Unfortunately, the meal didn’t turn out quite as well for me as I hope it does for you…Turned out my toast was freezer burnt & I think that the eggs might have been just past their prime…Oh well, I’ll have to try it again some time w/fresher ingredients!  At least the cheese sauce turned out amazing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes: Breakfast, Recipes: Main Dishes, Recipes: Quick Meals

Leave a Reply

