Breakfast…Turkey Bacon Eggs Benedict

I’m slightly obsessed with eggs benedict.  It’s typically what I get when I go out to brunch, so in order to save $, I obviously had to come up with my own version!  This recipe is one that I made up & change up per season or depending on what I have in the refrigerator.  The sauce is not your typical hollandaise sauce- it is one that my father taught me as a little girl & also what I use for making my mac & cheese.  It, too, varies depending on what cheeses I am in the mood for/have in my refrigerator.  I don’t eat red meat, so feel free to exchange the turkey bacon for Canadian bacon for your own recipe!

Ingredients (for 2):
For the sauce:  about a 1/2 cup of milk, about 2 Tbl butter, approx 2 Tbl flour, about a cup of grated cheese (any cheeses of your choice- I used gouda, cheddar & some others), a 1/2 teaspoon lemon (optional), salt/pepper/herbs to taste

For the base: 2 pieces of toast/croissant/English muffin, 2 eggs, 4 pieces of (turkey) bacon & (optional: 1/4 onion & 1/2 an avocado or 1/2 cup spinach)   

Directions:

In a small sauce pan, melt the butter and milk over medium/low heat.
Stir the milk until starts to slightly froth.
Add some flour and stir until the sauce is somewhat thick.
Slowly add in the grated cheese, stirring.  
Keep on low heat/simmer, occasionally stirring, while making other ingredients. 


In a pan, cook the bacon until lightly browned on both sides.

Saute the onions and lightly warm the avocado (or spinach) in a pan, too.  

In a pre-heated lightly buttered large pan (on medium/high), crack the eggs- cook until the whites aren’t transparent on the bottom, CAREFULLY flip each egg and cook for maybe 30-40 seconds…key is to keep the yolk runny!  

Place the egg on top of the toast/bacon/veggies.

Pour the warm cheese sauce on top of the pile.

Evenly distribute the cheese sauce between the two plates!

Enjoy!! 

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes: Breakfast

One response to “Breakfast…Turkey Bacon Eggs Benedict

  1. Amanda

    i’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

