Fun with Frosting Friday…Crazy Fondant Cakes!

I’m planning on doing a couple cakes this weekend, so I won’t  actually be showing anything made by me today… Instead, I’m going to showcase some wacky cakes made with fondant.  I don’t have a strong desire to use fondant on my cakes/cupcakes.  While you can create some pretty amazing things with fondant (see below), I feel like using other things (i.e. candy) is more creative, fun and challenging (in a good way).  To me, fondant just looks a little too fake/uneatable.  Who knows if I’ll always feel that way (I honestly haven’t actually used it myself), but that’s how I feel right now.

Anyway, while looking for cake/cupcake ideas, I’ve come across these cakes made with fondant & just had to share…

This cake is intense.  I can’t even imagine how long it took to make this cake!  Look at the detail!  Click on the photo and it’ll take you to the baker’s website, where you can see some other crazy cakes.  Interestingly enough, the baker calls herself the “Crazy Cake Lady” haha

Another by the Crazy Cake Lady…Oscar the Grouch!

Hmm pasta or cake?  Made by Zhanna Zubova, a Russian artist.

Ham or a cake?!  Credits: Debbie Goard/Rex USA

This one looks so realistic!  Popcorn anyone?  Credits: Debbie Goard/Rex USA

Aww look it’s Wall-E!

Pastry chef and artist Mike McCarey


Now the craziest cake made from fondant I’ve ever come across…

According to the article, “The 5-foot dessert was served at a celebration after the couple renewed their wedding vows. It contained 200 eggs and 7.5 liters of amaretto, and weighed 400 pounds.”  It took 5 weeks to make….Wow.  Yea, that’s all I can say about this cake- wow.

*

*

Here is a link to more crazy cakes that other bloggers posted:

http://www.guidespot.com/guides/cake_amazing_wedding_best

http://hubpages.com/hub/uniquethemecakedesigns

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun with Frosting Friday, Recipes: Desserts

Leave a Reply

