Fun with Frosting Friday (delayed)…apple disaster

Sorry for not posting this on Friday…My Fun with Frosting Friday post for last week is the tale of the apple cupcakes…a sad tale indeed.

I was all excited about these apple cupcakes, which I got from (I bet you can guess by now because it’s my favorite) FamilyFun.com!  Here’s what they were supposed to look like:  Here’s how they turned out looking for me…

 

 

 

 

 

Just from looking at the photos above, I’m sure you can figure out what happened:

  • I didn’t wait long enough for the cupcakes to cool before I put the frosting on
  • I didn’t have red food coloring…

Thankfully, the cupcakes still tasted delicious, despite the fact that they looked disastrous.

How I made the cupcakes/muffins:

APPLE-ALLSPICE MUFFINS recipe from http://www.foodpals.com/KitchenWitchCooks

1/4 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp allspice (or cinnaqmon, or nutmeg, or combination of cinnamon and nutmeg)
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup milk
1 cup finely chopped apples
(I dusted the apples w/cinnamon)

I omitted the addition of walnuts- if you want, it calls to add 1/2 a cup

Directions: Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg. Combine the flour, baking powder, allspice and salt. Add the flour mixture alternately with the milk to the butter mixture. DO NOT OVER-MIX. Stir in the apples. Fill muffin/cupcake pans/cups. Bake at 400F for 20 minutes. Let cool in pan for a few minutes before removing. (Tip: put pan in middle shelf of oven- if baking other things in oven, too, then switch shelves 1/2 way through to ensure baked evenly)


  • While you are waiting for the cupcakes to cool, mix a tub of cream cheese frosting with a couple drops of red food coloring in a small bowl
  • Once the cupcakes have fully cooled, spread the cream cheese frosting (generously) over the tops of the cupcakes
  • For decoration, add a pretzel stick, mint gummy leaf and gummy worm to the tops of the apples

Looking at these photos makes me sad.  My cupcakes clearly did not come out as I’d hoped that they would…I didn’t leave enough time for the cupcakes to cool, I lost my red food coloring somehow on my way over to my boyfriend’s place, so I tried to add juice to slightly color the frosting, which only made the frosting thinner.  I finally found my red food coloring weeks later- it had fallen out of my bag into the trunk of my car… I’ll have to try them again.

We all make mistakes…and hopefully we learn from them in the end!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun with Frosting Friday, Recipes (all), Recipes: Desserts

Leave a Reply

