New Year’s Resolutions?

2011!

I have mixed feelings regarding the topic of New Years Resolutions.  While I think it’s great to have resolutions, why must we only make them in the beginning of the year?  It’s just a new date, after-all!  That being said, I always manage to still make a few “promises” to myself that I’ll start in the new year…

This year I’ve made the following “promises” to myself:

  • Join the gym….I feel like everyone and their mother, brother & sister make this resolution, but I didn’t make it because I wasn’t working out- I really made this resolution in order to fulfill my next promise…saving money.  I had been taking a number of yoga, zumba & pilates classes at various gyms & studios, so I joined a gym that had all these available, as well as weights, machines, etc.  Much more economical.  By the way, I’ve already fulfilled this promise- joined on Monday & going back tonight!
  • Save money….don’t we all wish we had just a little more in our savings accounts than we actually do?! To do this I’m going to: work on cooking more at home (versus eating out), bring my lunch to work more often (I really struggle with this one), buy less clothes I don’t actually need (and donate some that I don’t wear anymore, too), and cut down on miscellaneous expenses like buying coffee & late-night pizza slices.
  • Be a better me…this one is more personal, so I won’t get into detail, but I essentially am just going to work on being the person I would like to be- putting my best foot forward.

 

What’s your New Year’s Resolution?

 

If you don’t actually have one, that’s okay!  But if you’re looking for some ideas….here are some common ones:

  • Drink Less Alcohol
  • Get a Better Education
  • Get a Better Job
  • Get Fit
  • Lose Weight
  • Manage Debt
  • Manage Stress
  • Quit Smoking Now
  • Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle
  • Save Money
  • Take a Trip
  • Volunteer to Help Others
  • Spend more time with family & friends
  • Enjoy life more
  • Learn something new
  • Get organized
  • Fall in love
  • Start a diary
  • Run a marathon
  • Advertisements

    Leave a comment

    Filed under Uncategorized

    Leave a Reply

    