Fun with Frosting Friday…frosting accents

I’m honestly running out of cakes/cupcakes to post…I have made so many more than I’ve posted already, but I can’t find photos of them because I either forgot to take one or it was pre-digital camera… A few that I still have in my file I’m waiting to post (they are more winter-themed).  Thankfully it’s also the holiday season & that means many holiday parties with my friends/family, so I’ll be baking+frosting more!

Anyway, this week my Fun with Frosting Friday post is a birthday cake that my sister-in-law made (thankfully she’s a fellow redhead, so she still fits into my blog criteria, haha).  The cake is one of my brother’s favorites- angel food cake.

Frosting doesn’t always have to be the main event of a cake/cupcake, sometimes it can be just the accent!

Ingredients/needs: angel food cake pan (non-stick ideal), angel food cake mix, water, frosting, decorator’s bags and tips, a pint of strawberries, frosted sunflower seeds

Instructions:

  • Mix & whip angel food cake (I recommend Duncan Hines) in an ungreased angel food cake pan (has a hole in the middle…)  If you are really ambitious you can mix it from scratch….http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/heavenly-angel-food-cake/Detail.aspx
  • As the cake is baking, wash & slice (in half) up about a dozen strawberries.  Sprinkle a little sugar on them to sweeten them a little (about 1-2 tablespoons)
  • Prep the frosting for decorating- put about a cup of frosting (colored w/food coloring) in a decorator’s bag and the flower decorator’s tip on.
  • Once the cake has finished baking & cooled (about 20 minutes), pour the strawberries into the hole of the angel food cake and a few around the edges for decoration.
  • Squirt the frosting out of the decorator’s tip around the edge of the cake and around the bottom.
  • For the middles of the flowers, decorate with frosted sunflower seeds.
  • Serve & enjoy!

Tip: even more yummy when you fill the middle of the angel food cake with whipped cream AND strawberries!

Now for cupcakes I’m planning on making this weekend…Cupcake People!!

http://partycupcakeideas.com/hello-cupcake-people-cupcakes/cupcake-faces/

I’ll be posting this Friday (Dec 10) how they came out!!

1 Comment

Filed under Fun with Frosting Friday, Recipes (all), Recipes: Desserts

One response to “Fun with Frosting Friday…frosting accents

  1. Pingback: Face Cupcakes - CupCakes

Leave a Reply

