Fun with Frosting Friday….what not to do (the cactus cake)!

I’ve cautioned in almost every post to make sure that the cake is fully cooled before spreading the frosting & today I am going to show you why….

Cactus Cake Fiasco:

Every time I look at this picture I get sad.  This cake is a prime example of why you don’t rush when baking a cake!  I was making this cake for a Mexican-themed dinner night at a friend’s house and was clearly running behind.  I mixed the cake, popped it in the oven, got ready & realized that I hardly had any time for it to cool before frosting it.  In hindsight, I should have probably just frosted/decorated the cake at my friend’s house, but I don’t typically like to do that- I love seeing my friends’ eyes light up when they see what I’ve brought.  Anyway, when the cake came out of the oven, I only had about 10-15 minutes before I had to leave, so I put the cake in the freezer, hoping that it would cool enough to decorate.  While I was mixing the frosting with green food coloring, I prayed that the cake would be ready.  Five minutes in the freezer was NOT enough… As I was frosting the cake I immediately had a soupy mess on my hands.  I nearly started to cry.  I did my best to mop up the melted frosting sides with a knife & wet paper towel, but as you see from the picture (above) that didn’t do much.  The cake was still yummy, but not quite what I’d hoped it would be…

Instructions:

  • Mix your favorite cake mix from a pre-packaged mix or from scratch
  • Pour cake batter into a 9 x 13 greased cake pan
  • Bake in oven per cake mix/recipe instructions
  • LET CAKE COOL (not too warm to the touch…at least 15-20 minutes)

Tip: If you don’t have much time, putting the cake in the refrigerator does help & cuts off about 5 minutes cooling time.  Make sure you put the pan on a potholder, though, so you don’t melt or burn your refrigerator shelves!

  • Cut out the shape of a cactus from the rectangle
  • Mix about 2 cups yellow/white frosting with green food coloring
  • Lather frosting on the cake, making sure to get all the edges
  • Decorate cake with green decorators sugar or green sprinkles & green decorators frosting (from a tube) to make the cactus needles
  • Enjoy!

*

*

*

Now a cake/cupcakes I’d like to make…Scarecrow Cupcakes

These little guys make me giggle!  How cute?!

How to make them:

Ingredients
  • Sugar Wafer Cookies- assorted colors if you can
  • White frosting
  • Candy corn
  • Jelly beans
  • Mini chocolate chips
  • Bran cereal (All-Bran works well)
  • Chocolate sprinkles
  • Cupcake mix or large sugar cookies*

*NOTE: you can make these cute little scarecrows on large sugar cookies or on cupcakes- up to you!

Instructions
1. Frost the top of each cookie or cupcake. 

2. Cut a sugar wafer in half. Add a dollop of frosting to the top edge of the cookie/cupcake and stick a wafer half to it for a hat top.

3. Place a whole sugar wafer just below the hat top for a brim. Use a little more frosting to decorate it with jelly beans, mini chocolate chips & sprinkles.

4. Press pieces of bran cereal hair into the frosting around the hat.

5. For the face, press on a candy corn nose, mini chocolate chip eyes, and a chocolate sprinkle stitched mouth.

This scarecrow recipe was adapted from: http://familyfun.go.com/recipes/sweet-scarecrows-686957/

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun with Frosting Friday, Recipes (all), Recipes: Desserts

Leave a Reply

