Fun with Frosting Friday….Pumpkin Cake!

To continue on the Halloween theme of my last post, here is the cake I made for a Halloween party a couple years ago:

How I made the Pumpkin Cake & cupcakes:

  • Poured a cake mix into a large circular pan & another batch into a cupcake pan with cupcake liners
  • While cake was baking, I mixed 3 to 4 cups of frosting with orange food coloring in a mixing bowl, about a 1/2 a cup of vanilla frosting with green food coloring in a small bowl & 1/2 a cup of vanilla frosting with black food coloring- put black frosting in decorating bag
  • Once the cakes/cupcakes had cooled, I spread the orange frosting generously over the cake & cupcakes
  • I sliced one of the cupcakes in half and spread the green frosting over it, then placed it above the cake body, to look like a stem.
  • Lastly, I decorated the cupcakes with black bakers tips to look like jack-o-lanterns and added green gel to make a vein on the cake
  • Ingredients/supplies: green decorators gel, about 4-5 cups vanilla frosting, cake mix, decorators bag & tip, knife, circular pan, cupcake pan, cupcake liners

Now for a cake I’d like to make:

This was made by the sister of one of my friends & was probably delicious (I hear she’s a really good baker).  From the looks of it, it looks like the cake was made in a bunt pan, the hole was filled & an ice cream cone was frosted for the stem!  Great idea!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun with Frosting Friday, Recipes (all), Recipes: Desserts

Leave a Reply

